Hillary Clinton on vice president run: ‘Never say never’


Hillary Clinton said she isn’t running for president, but she reluctantly conceded an openness to being on someone else’s ticket.

Talk show host Ellen DeGeneres asked Clinton, 72, on Thursday whether she would run as vice president if the eventual Democratic Party nominee asked her.

“Well, that’s not going to happen,” Clinton laughed. “But no, probably no.”

Clinton recalled that she turned former President Barack Obama down twice when he asked her to be secretary of state.

“I never say never because I do believe in serving my country, but it’s not going to happen,” she said.

The former secretary of state revealed in November that she was receiving a number of calls urging her to rethink her decision to sit out of the 2020 race.

“As I say, never, never, never say never,” the 2016 Democratic presidential nominee said when asked if she was ruling out a future in public office.

“I will certainly tell you, I’m under enormous pressure from many, many, many people to think about it,” Clinton said. “But as of this moment, sitting here in this studio talking to you, that is absolutely not in my plans.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.